Actuarial Outpost

Go Back   Actuarial Outpost > Exams - Please Limit Discussion to Exam-Related Topics > SoA > SoA Exams - General
FlashChat Actuarial Discussion Preliminary Exams CAS/SOA Exams Cyberchat Around the World Suggestions

ACTUARIAL SALARY SURVEYS
Contact DW Simpson for a Personalized Salary Survey

Old 05-25-2017, 12:33 AM
SOA

College: Graduated from National University of Singapore
Question FSA Track for Health Actuarial Analyst

Hi, I graduated with B.Sc in Mathematics and Statistics last year, and will be working as Health Actuarial Analyst in one of insurance company in Singapore. I am considering whether to take QFI or GH track for FSA. Taking QFI will be easier for me because of I have strong background in undergraduate studies. Taking GH will be relevant and value-added for the job.

Could you give advice on the track choices, considering also: possible future transfer to other fields (property/life/investment), reward by company (whether company will appreciate or reward the employee taking relevant track), etc?
FRM: 1 2

Last edited by stefanuslie; 05-25-2017 at 12:36 AM..
Old 05-25-2017, 01:20 AM
CAS SOA

Studying for CAS

You should go for the track with more relevance to your job.
However, keep in mind that the GH track is focused on US group & health regulations and business.
Old 05-25-2017, 08:16 PM
SOA

Quote:
Originally Posted by youngorchard View Post
You should go for the track with more relevance to your job.
I agree with this. Your background may make studying a little easier for the QFI exams, but I don't think that should be the sole determinant. For either exam, there's going to be a massive syllabus with tons of reading, lists and problems, so I don't think it would be a huge difference. For Health, a lot of the exam is understanding concepts more than memorizing formulas or doing certain types of problems over and over again.