Actuarial Outpost
 
Go Back   Actuarial Outpost > Actuarial Discussion Forum > Careers - Employment
FlashChat Actuarial Discussion Preliminary Exams CAS/SOA Exams Cyberchat Around the World Suggestions



Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 11-26-2019, 03:02 PM
Lamphead Lamphead is offline
SOA
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
College: University of Toronto 2013
Posts: 6
Default FCIA needed for work in Canada?

If you've got an FSA but you don't have an FCIA, how do people feel that would impact your career if you moved to Canada? Not at all, partially? I say that because I just realized there's no way to get your FCIA anymore if you take the American version of the SOA fellowship exams..
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 11-27-2019, 09:35 AM
underactuary212 underactuary212 is offline
Member
CAS
 
Join Date: Dec 2017
Posts: 77
Default

Doesn't affect you at all. You'll get fcia through mutual recognition after working some years in Canada
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 11-27-2019, 12:06 PM
Lamphead Lamphead is offline
SOA
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
College: University of Toronto 2013
Posts: 6
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by underactuary212 View Post
Doesn't affect you at all. You'll get fcia through mutual recognition after working some years in Canada
Actually you won't, since 2018 you must have taken the Canadian version of the SOA exams or else you simply won't ever be eligible for FCIA (unless you did an SOA track that has no Canadian equivalents aka ERM and Quant). Of course you could go back and repeat the Canadian version of the exams but I wouldn't..

And if you're wondering how come I can bring a designation from say UK and get recognized but not the SOA itself..ya I dunno.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 11-27-2019, 12:22 PM
ElDucky's Avatar
ElDucky ElDucky is offline
Free Mason
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: In a van, down by the river
Studying for Let me worry about blank
Favorite beer: Trappistes Rochefort 8
Posts: 45,015
Default

Depends on your position and line of work. In pensions it's important so you can sign. In insurance, only the appointed actuary needs it, so you could get by without it.
__________________
I live near the cows.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 11-27-2019, 03:57 PM
Cooke Cooke is offline
Member
SOA AAA
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Location: Vancouver BC
Favorite beer: Dark Matter
Posts: 4,353
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Lamphead View Post
Actually you won't, since 2018 you must have taken the Canadian version of the SOA exams or else you simply won't ever be eligible for FCIA (unless you did an SOA track that has no Canadian equivalents aka ERM and Quant). Of course you could go back and repeat the Canadian version of the exams but I wouldn't..

And if you're wondering how come I can bring a designation from say UK and get recognized but not the SOA itself..ya I dunno.
Part of the issue is that the SOA refuses to give SOA exam credits for Canada's University Accreditation Program whereas the UK does. Hence mutual recognition with the U.K. body but not with the SOA.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 10:20 PM.


Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
*PLEASE NOTE: Posts are not checked for accuracy, and do not
represent the views of the Actuarial Outpost or its sponsors.
Page generated in 0.31144 seconds with 11 queries