Actuarial Outpost

Go Back   Actuarial Outpost > Actuarial Discussion Forum > Careers - Employment
FlashChat Actuarial Discussion Preliminary Exams CAS/SOA Exams Cyberchat Around the World Suggestions

Upload your resume securely at https://www.dwsimpson.com
to be contacted when our jobs meet your skills and objectives.

Old 03-02-2004, 01:57 PM

Default Piercings and interviews

Okay here it goes...

First I'll start off with a little background. I'm in 2nd year University, currently on my 2nd co-op term. Both previous terms have been with the same bank, but in different jobs. First job was in IT, second (currently) is in market risk. I'm writing my first exam in May (hopefully I pass) and I plan to try really hard to get into an actuarial job for my next co-op term.

I have a connection pretty high up in the bank, so those jobs were pretty easy for me to get--had a few strings pulled for me and I was basically in. I still had to go for interviews for both jobs--one for the IT job and 2 for the second job. These did seem more to "get to know me" before I start rather than an actual interview. During the IT interview they drilled be pretty hard, for the second job it was very relaxed.

Now I'll finally get to the point: During my first placement I got the upper cartilage of my left ear pierced. I like how it looks, others seem to like how it looks--I'm happy. Late in the term though, my boss (about mid 50's) asked me about it: "Do you think I would've hired you if you had that during the interview?". This was more theoretical, because he didn't have much of a choice in the matter. I answered with a question, and nobody really got a real answer from it.

During the interviews for my second job, nobody really seemed to notice it and it wasn't a big deal.