Actuarial Outpost

Go Back   Actuarial Outpost > Actuarial Discussion Forum > Careers - Employment
FlashChat Actuarial Discussion Preliminary Exams CAS/SOA Exams Cyberchat Around the World Suggestions

DW Simpson
Actuarial Jobs

Visit our site for the most up to date jobs for actuaries.

Actuarial Salary Surveys
Property & Casualty, Health, Life, Pension and Non-Tradtional Jobs.

Actuarial Meeting Schedule
Browse this year's meetings and which recruiters will attend.

Contact DW Simpson
Have a question?
Let's talk.
You'll be glad you did.

Old 12-28-2004, 12:07 PM
CAS

Default Career changer resume question

I entered the actuarial field, and began taking exams, late in life (at age 43, to be exact). At the moment I have two years of actuarial experience, 20 years of finance and IT experience, and four exams.

If I were 25, the exams wouldn't be an issue. I'd put, "Passed SOA/CAS Exams 1 through 4" on my resume, and the reader would assume (correctly) that I was making reasonable progress and would continue and (hopefully) eventually get my letters.

At age 45, I'm not sure I can count on readers making that asumption. It looks too much like I'm a "career student", who either stopped taking exams or has been taking exams by fits and starts and is making very slow progress.

To be sure, a discerning reader would say, "This guy probably wasn't taking exams while he was a financial analyst at the phone company." But I don't like to force people to read tea leaves when they're looking at my resume.

So far I've considered:

1. Putting the dates along with the exams: "Passed 1 and 2, November 2002; Passed 3, May 2003; Passed 4, November 2004." But most people don't do that, and it looks a little weird.

2. Add, "Sitting for Exam 5, May 2005." But that's kind of pompous, and it makes it look like something unusual--like normally I wouldn't be sitting.

3. Mention my situation in the cover letter. But cover letters have a way of getting separated from resumes.