Actuarial Outpost

Go Back   Actuarial Outpost > Actuarial Discussion Forum > Careers - Employment
FlashChat Actuarial Discussion Preliminary Exams CAS/SOA Exams Cyberchat Around the World Suggestions

DW Simpson Global Actuarial & Analytics Recruitment
Download our Actuarial Salary Survey
now with state-by-state salary information!

Old 01-19-2005, 01:03 PM
SOA AAA

Default How long Resume !!!

I passed Course 1 and now preparing for Course 2 and looking out for a job in actuarial field. Previously, I did my masters in Engineering and worked for 3.5 years as an Analytical Engineer. I got in touch with one recruiter and she pointed out that I need to send the shorter resume (my current resume is about 2 pages, with my past 3.5 years engineering exp. in there). couple of questions -
1. If I am looking out for an entry level position in actuarial field then should I reduce the length of my resume ?
2. If I reduce my resume then I will not be able to put all my past exp. what do you guys suggest ? by the way, my exp. is not actually in actuarial field. but I have been working in statistics and mathematics and using MS Excel, programming in C, FORTRAN, MS Project, Minitab (statistical software),and little bit MS Access.

I would appreciate you people's views on my situation.
Old 01-19-2005, 01:15 PM
Site Sponsor
Site Sponsor

College: Yes

One page.
Old 01-19-2005, 03:52 PM
SOA AAA

College: Western Washington, Colorado-Boulder

If it's more than one page, you'd better have some pretty high credentials after your name or a pretty long list of publications.

Seriously, if you can't cut it to one page, show it to someone and have them help.

Doug
Old 01-19-2005, 03:53 PM
SOA AAA

1. Drop anything that has nothing to do with actuarial work. Classes took, work experience not helpful to hiring actuary, etc.
2. What you wrote --
Quote:
using MS Excel, programming in C, FORTRAN, MS Project, Minitab (statistical software),and little bit MS Access.
-- should not take two pages.