Actuarial Outpost

Go Back   Actuarial Outpost > Actuarial Discussion Forum > Careers - Employment
FlashChat Actuarial Discussion Preliminary Exams CAS/SOA Exams Cyberchat Around the World Suggestions

Upload your resume securely at https://www.dwsimpson.com
to be contacted when our jobs meet your skills and objectives.

Old 03-12-2005, 07:40 PM

Location: where the streets have no name, so I can't tell you or else I'd have to kill you
Default Resume question

Hi, I am currently a high school math teacher (going to sit for Exam P in May), and I want to start updating my resume for the actuarial field. I have a question about software experience...I took a course in college back in 1998 in which I learned Access. However, since it has been so long and I have had no use for Access, I do not remember how to use the program. I know I would be able to pick it up again, but should I still list this on my resume -- perhaps at the end of the technical skills? Thanks for your help
Old 03-12-2005, 07:48 PM
Cynic

I would list it as "familiar with Access" or something like that. Do you have Access at home? Play with it a little to know the basics. It's not that hard.
Old 03-12-2005, 07:52 PM

Location: where the streets have no name, so I can't tell you or else I'd have to kill you

Quote:
Originally Posted by Cynic
I would list it as "familiar with Access" or something like that. Do you have Access at home? Play with it a little to know the basics. It's not that hard.
Thanks Cynic. Unfortunately, I do not have Access at home. I wish I did, so I would be able to play around with it.

I also taught C++ and was a computer programmer (not in C++) for a year, which I am hoping will look good on my resume since I am a career changer.
Old 03-12-2005, 08:04 PM
Retired Administrator

I hope you don't mind that I moved this to the careers section.
Old 03-12-2005, 08:27 PM

Quote:
Originally Posted by Traci
I hope you don't mind that I moved this to the careers section.